Honour of the highest order bestowed on long-serving councillors

Aldermen in their elegant regalia.

Ekurhuleni’s first sitting saw the ceremonial announcement of the Alderman list, as approved by council.

Spokesperson from the office of the council, speaker Sphelele Nxele, said an honour of the highest order for councillors, Alderman, is a title bestowed by council through its Conferment of Civic Honours policy.

“This policy outlines a stringent qualifying criterion that includes an unbroken record of serving as an Ekurhuleni councillor, determined by an accumulative point system.

“Upon conferment, a councillor may retain its use post-tenure.

“Recognising and honouring those consistently entrusted to lead their communities is a significant aspect of nation-building.

“It is a reflection of a relationship founded on the principles of “Batho Pele” – Putting people first, which council champions as its core value system through the City of Ekurhuleni,” Nxele explained.

He said the concept of Alderman exists at local government in many jurisdictions internationally and locally.

Council also acknowledged and congratulated members of the Ekurhuleni Junior City Council (JCC) who performed outstandingly in their matric exams.

“It’s a great honour to have been a part of grooming these young people.

“Fulfilling their Junior City Council duties while staying focused at school and achieving superb results is indeed an excellent achievement.

“Thank you for shaping a complex model for future junior councillors.

“As you pursue your chosen career streams and your journey gains momentum, I urge you to continue to strive for excellence,” said Alderman Patricia Kumalo, speaker of council.

Nxele said Ekurhuleni’s first ordinary sitting proved to be both eventful and memorable.

The list of councilors honored as Aldermen is as follows:

1. Clr Berg Izak David

2. Clr Campbell Tania Lynette

3. Clr Chauke Emily Vivienne

4. Clr Chiya Kesrah Nomvula

5. Clr Chiloane Victor Wisdom

6. Clr Diamond Neil

7. Clr (MMC) Duba Queen Bongiwe

8. Clr du Plessis André

9. Clr Haipel Bruna Teresina

10. Clr Kriek Gerhardus Gerrie

11. Clr (speaker of council) Kumalo Nombeko Patricia

12. Clr (chief whip of council) Mashego Mfana Robert

13. Clr (chairperson) Maseko Nomsa Maureen

14. Clr (chairperson) Mabena Vuyelwa Mathilda

15. Clr Mabena Nthatane Anna

16. Clr (MMC) Mabaso Makhosazane Minah

17. Clr (chairperson) Mabuza Nozipho Meisie

18. Clr Maroleng Barbra Cynthia

19. Clr Mahano Fortune Lehlogonolo

20. Clr (MMC) Mahlangu Mafutha Isaac Thumbu

21. Clr (MMC) Makwakwa Moses

22. Clr (chairperson) Mkhonza Pinky Deliswe

23. Clr Mogale Esoph Abdul

24. Clr (chairperson) Nketle Tiisetso Getrude

25. Clr Taylor Edward

26. Clr (chairperson) Siboza Mthuthuzeli Hugh

27. Clr (MMC) Shongwe Ndosi Gladys

28. Clr Visser Maria Isabella

29. Clr Trollip Victoria Gail

30. Clr (executive mayor) Gungubele Mondli

31. Clr Fenn Geoff

32. Clr Patterson Cliff

33. Clr Reilly Jackie

34 Clr Robinson Benno

35. Clr Roos Joey

36. Clr Sauls Allan

37. Clr Shabangu Shadow Samson

38. Clr Taylor Eddie

39. Clr Mashigo Alleta Mathoboro

40. Clr Ditshego Thalitha Siphiwe

41. Clr Thebe Themba Freedom

42. Clr Masango Masontaga Lidia


Latest News


Next Story x
The three most dangerous snakes on the East Rand

Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our FREE newsletter
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

African Reporter
Benoni City Times
Boksburg Advertiser
Brakpan Herald
Germiston City News
Springs Advertiser

Your details:

Your friends: